Friendship That’s Worth It

Posted: July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Feeling kind of pensive today, wrapped up in thoughts and words and writer sorts of things. I think I could walk around an art gallery all day long, jotting down metaphors, protagonist traits, themes and schemes for later exposition, simply letting time be unimportant.  One day soon I’ll have to schedule that I think.

This morning began like most Friday’s do, early morning coffee with my good friend, Heidi. This little ritual all started one day back about 4 years ago when we were both working at the magnet company. We (it was her idea first) thought it might be fun to meet before work one day a week….maybe for accountability, maybe for conversations that couldn’t/shouldn’t happen while on the clock, maybe just a breather way to start the last day of the work week. Maybe just two girls spending time.

GOOD decision. I mean, REALLY good.

We have read books together, talked about personal challenges, prayed together, laughed and cried and we’ve drank lots and lots and LOTS of Dunn Brothers coffee. 🙂  When I was laid off that job in the summer of 2009, we re-upped….RE-decided to keep doing it.

Let me tell you a little about Heidi.

Heidi is one of those people that just make you smile. She is easy to be around, never demanding, always interested in what you have to say, and tends to look at the world as mostly sunny instead of partly cloudy. She’s a woman of faith and honesty and authenticity, and has a heart stuffed with compassion and sensibility. Great combination, isn’t it?
She has an easy laugh, and is just so darn sweet without being syrupy-so, know what I mean?

Yes, the decision to sacrifice a few hours of sleep one day a week was, and continue to be more than good…it is wise. Epically so.

I remember snarky little girls in grade school that made a lot of people feel like they needed to be more or different or something they weren’t. I remember beautiful girls in high school who knew they were beautiful and worked hard to make others feel less than.  Some people just have that knack, you know?! You probably know some people like that too.

Adopting a gun shy response to getting close to others can be the result of spending time with people like that, people that really don’t accept others just for who they are.

I’m glad that I have friends like Heidi. Because she just sort of restores my faith in humanity that there really are good and gracious people in this world. I think there are actually probably a lot of really good people, and I am just tickled to my toes to know some of them. Even though every human being possesses unsurpassable worth, it’s just easier to see it in some people.

I won’t be giving up my Friday morning coffee date anytime soon. My fellow coffee-loving, creative writer girlfriend, Ms. Heidi makes it more than worth my while. She’s a peach, a gem, and a tall glass of cool, iced tea on a hot day.

And I love her to pieces.

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    Aw Cheryl, that’s so sweet to write about your friend like that! I agree, quite a gem.

Talk to me.

