No Status Quo In Paris

Posted: July 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

Questions without answers, especially clumps of them, are hard. Not impossible hard or give-up hard, just the kind of thing that interrupts our routines. Stops us. Slows us down. Hubz and I have a couple of clumps right now. We’re sorting. Supporting each other. Opening our mind and heart to unexplored territories. And not taking it all too terribly serious, yet knowing full well the completely serious implications.

I’ve been reading The Paris Wife over the last few days, a book about Ernest Hemingway and his first wife, Hadley…how they met, fell in love, moved to Paris and all the sacrifices made to launch and support a writer’s life. It all happens in the era of the lost generation of the 20’s, a world different than today, and yet what similarities!  Some things are true no matter who you are or whether you lived in 1920’s or today, approaching 2020:  A simple life, when it is laser focused, makes dreams come true.

Life presents us with lots of questions, often in clumps . . . like when we lose a job. Or lose our credit cards in bankruptcy. Or have unrelenting pain or get alarming news from the doctor that forces lifestyle changes. Or . . .  you fill in the blank. The kind of life events that leave you with the question, what now?

These things may mean the end of life as we know it today, but really, they are more opportunities than tragedies.

And ending the status quo? Maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe we shouldn’t hold on to things so tightly. Maybe there’s a whole ‘nother world out there just waiting. A world we wouldn’t see if we still had that job, that money or that undisturbed health. Are we guilty of focusing so much time and energy on maintaining the status quo (that may or may not be moving us closer to our dreams) that there isn’t any time or energy to consider another world?

I don’t know about you, but I’ve missed enough opportunities in my life to know that I don’t want to miss any more.  If I continue to do what I’ve always done, guess what I get? Yeah…. So, these are times for thinking new thoughts, for doing something different. Maybe something bold. Embracing the future, not cowering under it, even though its uncertainty is a little scary.  Eleanor Roosevelt has some good advice for us:

“Do something every day that scares you.”

In other words, don’t always play it safe. Take a chance. Don’t worry so much about what other people think. Dream a little. Or dream a lot! What would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail?

Clumps and all.

Comments
  1. Geoff says:

    Thanks! A lot!

  2. Love this! Off and on through-out life, I’ve tried to accept various status quos because I thought I had to … the joy of middle-age is realizing I don’t have to. I can change things if I want to.
    And I love that quote from E. Roosevelt.

    • Janet, I just heard Dr. Oz say today that there is something about middle age that brings a hefty dose of creativity! True, you think? There’s enough status quo in the world, I say lets stir a few things up together!

  3. Interesting thought from Dr. Oz … I think he’s unto something there. Some of it may be that at middle-age some of us are finally finished trying to be who we think others want us to be and instead we’re willing to be ourselves.

Talk to me.

