Art Class

Posted: October 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s Art Class, and I am in the 5th grade. The teacher places the still form in the center of the classroom. Students are seated in a circle, facing it, sketchpads opened. Eyes are quickly moving back and forth between the two with what looks like perfect hand-eye coordination. Some with great intensity.

I watch them, wondering what on earth they see that I don’t. I must’ve went through at least half of my sketchpad that day, and with each torn out and crumpled page, I grew increasingly aware that drawing wasn’t my forte.

And, I remember the day well that I came home with a “D” in Art. Bad grades weren’t the end of the world in our home, my parents were wise, I think, in this area. They would simply encourage me and my two sisters to do our very best, and if our very best was a C or even a D, well, it just wasn’t that big of a deal.

But, this was different because it was about Art. My dad was an artist by trade, and I was worried that my performance would be a great disappointment to him . . . that I would be a great disappointment to him. For a long time after that I allowed this “D” to define me as one of the uncreative souls of the world.

It has been said that we shouldn’t worry about skills we don’t have, that it’s best not to covet strengths that others do have. Instead, just extract our own uniqueness. Thanks Mr. Max Lucado, that’s beautiful. I think that’s what mom and dad were saying to me, too. Even more beautiful.

Because, really, there is no such thing as an uncreative soul.

Comments
  1. Terri says:

    you might be surprised by this, but i’m confident that you can render a subject very realistically with the right training. it doesn’t have anything to do with creativity. it’s a matter of learning to see what’s actually there rather than drawing what’s in your head (what you think that thing is supposed to look like.) and learning these things can be a good discipline. we often interact with figments of our imagination because we haven’t taken the time to see what’s actually in front of us.

    and shame on that teacher. no one should ever get a “D” in art. if you did poorly in the class, it was because she wasn’t a very good art teacher.

Talk to me.

